Stranded On Krydon Official Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The official forum for the popular Starcraft 2 map, Stranded On Krydon

3 posters

The Brutal Experience

Starke
    Starke

The Brutal Experience Empty The Brutal Experience

Post  Starke Mon Jan 03, 2011 6:15 pm

I now solely play Brutal, and the time has come for me to catalog what I have learned for both my own reflection and that of the entire community. This could get really long-winded, so I may even use chapters!

Fun Reflection:
    Brutal makes veteran players feel like noobs again. When I started playing, before there was even a difficulty option, I was amazed at the adventurous and calculating qualities of the game. I got beat. Badly. But it was fun! I played again and got beat again. Slowly, I learned to land my CC right next to mineral patches. To build Mules to gather faster. To kill Spine Crawlers by building a Missile Turret and sniping the Tumor. What defenses I needed to survive each wave. But there was not set recipe. The map changed around me! Hatcheries where there used to be minerals, buildings where there used to be nothing. I loved it because beating once didn't mean you could beat it again and again. Keep in mind I had yet to even win. I am a competitive person by nature, and for me to enjoy losing is exceedingly rare. And when I won, it was truly a hard-earned victory. Brutal resets you to this state. It pounds you senseless with a hammer. Your first time, I doubt you will survive the first wave. The second wave, foolish miners will be ensnared by Infestors they never saw coming and get killed. But you endeavor to rise above all this, as you did before. You find a way to survive each night.

Ok, I'm done with the mushy stuff now. Let's get to the nuts and bolts. pirat The challenges of Brutal!

Challenges:
    The Enemies